Uncategorized

Cowardice, Futility and the Real Deal

Here is where I come clean.  One of my children just now called me a fraud, because she thinks I am the last person in the world to actively procrastinate.  Maybe I should congratulate myself for setting such a good example (or for just fooling my kids all these years by pretending to have my act together)?  So now I will announce the real (and somewhat selfish) reason for my blog.  The reason is that I love to write, but lack the discipline to get something written EVERY day.  As daily exercise strengthens the body, consistent effort makes your writing better ~  that is a fact.  And if it were so easy to do it, we’d all be best-selling authors.

But the reality is that writing is a very solitary activity, and it is all too easy to let yourself (or fingers) wander all over the Internet or into the kitchen for a snack or to clean that bathroom so when your Mom comes over you won’t have to hear about it. And if you have a day job that pays the bills you don’t always have the luxury of waiting around for the muse to tickle you, and you are tired at the end of a long day, or you’re just not going to get up an hour earlier every morning.  And then there is that fear of failure and/or success and all those other un/named obstacles that humans are prone to serve up.   The blog format is almost like that exercise you had in 6th grade Language Arts class where the teacher made everybody write in their journal for the first 15 minutes of class.  (You surely remember that nerdy girl still wearing an undershirt — not a training bra — who actually liked this assignment?) So this is my outlet,  a valid excuse to write every day (just like you have to eat every day.)  I promise to make each post more engaging than a 6th grader’s language arts journal, because even if I’m the only reader, I know that nobody EVER wants to repeat ANYTHING from the 6th grade.

 

5 thoughts on “Cowardice, Futility and the Real Deal

  1. Blogging is a great way to at least keep your mind moving, and keep the idea of writing front and center in your consciousness. I think you’ll find over time the subjects you blog about will expand. It seems daunting in the beginning, you wonder what in the world you could possibly have to say, but before you know it you’ll have more topics for blog posts in mind than you’ll have time to write! I go in spurts. Sometimes I don’t write any posts for a couple of weeks, and one day I think I wrote and posted 3! 🙂

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

