Uncategorized

It’s Bull!

I profess ignorance.  I did not know that the “Charging Bull” sculpture down on Wall Street was a gift from the artist, Arturo Di Modica, who delivered the bull, in secret, to the NYSE on 12/15/89.  Since the artist did not have a permit to publicly display the work, the bull was towed away and ignobly impounded in a Queens truck company parking lot.  New Yorkers are a people who value art and public expression: news coverage created enough pressure on city officials to find a home for the “capitalistic cattle” in Bowling Green Park for the next three months.  Public sentiment for the tourist attraction made the bull a permanent fixture in Lower Manhattan.

This is the front page story in the Newark Star Ledger this morning…. http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2011/11/wall_streets_charging_bull_sta.html
Apparently, folks are afraid the OWS protests are a threat to the 3.5 ton Bull?  Really?

UPDATE:  I added a relatively recent example of free speech around The Bull for us to review.

Crochet Artist Olek's Work: Dec 2010
3 thoughts on “It’s Bull!

  1. I can see the total anarchists among them getting in a lather and trying to topple it, like the Saddam Hussein statue. Whether they could do it or not is another matter.

    Interesting, I had no idea where or when it came from either.

    1. I don’t know…. i’m no physics expert, but the center of gravity for a bull this size would make it very hard to topple ~ although he could be defaced. But I do like the artist’s comment that he for the people both with and without money.

  2. I have a very different relationship to the Bull: I used to walk from the Staten Island Ferry terminal to school on Worth Street and back, every school day, and the Bull was about 2/3 of the way home – Bowling Green Park really is a point where Manhattan Island visibly narrows, and from there you can see the harbour beckoning at you beyond Battery Park, a few blocks away. The Bull sort of sent me on my way every morning, and reminded me I was done for the day, and almost home every evening; he was and remains a very personal landmark, especially since the loss of my halfway point – the Twin Towers. The idea that anybody would deface my beloved bovine in the name of politics is too dreadful to contemplate.

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

