Uncategorized

The Post That Refreshes

Well, dear elite Nappers, September 2012 means you’ve been visiting Can I Take a Nap First? for a whole year  (pause to reflect/gather thoughts/ get a snack/take a bathroom break).   I can’t thank you enough for stopping by and leaving your comments.  It’s been a blast, and I look forward to another year of mining popular culture and my family gatherings for blog fodder.

If you follow the academic or Jewish calendars you know that September (usually) brings the new year.   Whether you are gathering the harvest or gathering new pencils you can feel change in the air.  You can see the subtle changes in the light, and you can smell that new car smell as the 2013 models roll onto the lots. I hope all of you had delightful summers chock full of fresh local farm stand produce.  It’s a deliberate act of faith in your community to buy locally grown goods, and it’s just a nice way to meet your friends and neighbors before we get boxed in by over-booked schedules, partisan politics and bad weather.

Looking in the rear-view mirror for a bit:  we had the Olympics as a diversion.  And if you didn’t enjoy watching the events, there was plenty of opinion to go around about the coverage.  And speaking of coverage (or lack thereof) the Paralympics   are happening in London right now.  These extraordinary athletes are just as deserving of media coverage and fan support so do check them out.

I’m trying out a new look for the Nap.  Feels like the right time, but I’m a little rusty on the widgets so please bear with me.   I’ll have plenty of time to fine-turn later this month as I’ll be under house quarantine glowing with radioactivity from RI  therapy to ablate whatever thyroid is left from my little dance with thyroid cancer last May.  No biggie.  The bigger inconvenience is the “fruit bat” low-iodine diet I have to follow for the next 2 weeks.  But a woman can live without dairy and chocolate for 2 weeks, right?    It’s a little more complicated than that:  you have to assume that any product you don’t craft yourself could have iodized salt in it.  Kosher salt is OK, but on the “NO” list are any commercially prepared foods (breads/salad dressings/marinades) and anything with red dye #3.  I quote a wise Bunny who says, “it’s best to eat food made out of food.”   So this week I’ve been surprising myself with baking and cooking low-iodine recipes, and eating fruit at every meal.  And you know what?  I’m not hungry.  Sure, I could go for a nice iced coffee with milk on a warm afternoon, but on the flip side I’ve been experimenting with different eye-opening teas.

I’m technically working from home during my house arrest,  but since I can’t go out among the living in my off hours, I’ll need to catch up on my reading and TV watching.  Any recommendations, kids?

18 thoughts on “The Post That Refreshes

  1. NO CHOCOLATE???!!! :::faints::: Oh well, I guess two weeks without isn’t SO bad… but still…

    Now’s a good time to pick up Glen Duncan’s books 😉 Or, brush up on Treasure Island. Frank Delaney is releasing a sequel to it, “The Curse of Treasure Island” on Sept. 10, just in time for Talk Like a Pirate Day on the 19th 🙂

    You know what I’ve been dying to rewatch lately is the old Disney series, “Anne of Green Gables” with Megan Follows. I loved that show. Or read the LMM books. A long vanished time that was so much gentler and slower paced than our current age makes me wish I Einstein had gotten around to inventing time machines. I could use some time off.

    1. I hear you, DD.
      Glen Duncan is on my “To Read” list currently so this may be the right time.
      Yeah, the no chocolate restriction is a bit of a bummer, but now’s the right time for the biggest selection of fresh fruit and veggies. I find that if I plan out the day’s intake and don’t let myself get too hungry, I stay calm (and full). Like any diet that seems to be the key ~ making habits so you don’t get distracted.

      1. I was looking for custom fonts and it seems that it’s now $30 to upgrade for the option. Maybe it’s related to the theme you choose?
        And I seem to have the dumb when it comes to making a new page. I “lost” my HOME page and am trying to find it again. Jajajaja!

  2. it has been so long since we have seen you?!?!

    if there is anything that we can do to help you (or the G-Man) during your imprisonment, please let us know.

    as far as entertainment?!?! i am guessing that you have watched this season’s “the newsroom” on hbo? not always brilliant (and i find it a bit of a “bully” piece), but pretty entertaining.

    not positive if it is your “style”, but i did get turned onto (and into) “justified”. tim olyphant stars (and is most excellent). if your library (or netflix) has it, i would definitely begin with season 1 (there have been 3 seasons).

    as far as books (and you will notice that i didnt write literature), i have become a fan of David Rosenfelt’s books, especially his series about “andy carpenter”. it is a “comic mystery series” about a lawyer in nj. quick read, pretty funny stuff and lots of local references. (sound like any other author with whom you are familiar???). again, i would recommend beginning with the first book, “open and shut” (which i think i own?!?!).

    glow in good health.

    1. N.S.T.U.!!! So good to see you. On the “plus” side, it’s Back to School for G-man & the Girls so during the week I’m really flying (and eating) solo. On the “minus,” we can’t really go out to eat at all on the weekends. Still, it’s only another week.

      I feel the same way you do about “The Newsroom.” There were some excellent Sorkin moments, but on the whole it stretched my realism boundaries to the point where I was cringing. Yours is the second trusted recommendation of “Justified,” too.

      NPR was doing a little series called “Crime in the City” — focusing on authors who set their stories on a specific city/town. I would catch them during my morning commute ~ here’s the link http://www.npr.org/templates/archives/archive.php?thingId=13795507 in case you want to “go abroad” in your reading, too.

  3. Thanks for the update. Ditto what NSTU said. I’m not much of a reader but I will echo that I enjoyed David Rosenfelt. Will the G-Man have to vacate the premises so as not to glow? If so, he is more than welcome to crash here. For how long will you be quarantined? Please let us know if we can help out in any way. We can always Skype so you don’t go stir crazy. Although, as you said, good chance to catch up on books and TV. Not the vacation you would want, but your great attitude will take you far!

    1. Thanks for your generous offer of hearth and home, but we only need to maintain a distance of 9 feet (or a room apart). You know what they say: absence makes the heart grow fonder. Apparently if we had a dog or cat, those creatures would also have to stay away. The fish are OK. Will keep you posted, but I might want to stay “unseen” and take advantage of wearing my PJ’s for the week.

  4. Wow, “Can I take a nap first?” is so entertaining. You have such an interesting, insightful and comical voice. The fruit bat diet sounds challenging but at least it’s temporary.

    Loved reading about your Maine adventures! Great decor with the stuffed bears! Really makes you want to chow down!

    Naps and love,
    Amy

  5. Love the new layout Maj. Mazel Tov on your one year in the blogosphere.

    TV to watch: The DNC (naturally). Cory Booker will be speaking Tuesday at 6ish. That new show on NBC about the unconventional family (The New Normal?) looks pretty good, Say Yes to the Dress is on TLC like, all morning. Will and Grace is on Lifetime from 10-11am. That 70s show is on ABC Family sometimes in the afternoons. Get into soccer on the Spanish channels. Very exciting! When in doubt, QVC in honor of OG is always good background filler.

    1. Jajajajaja! Thank you, my sweet. It is clear that your time at school is well-spent on media research. But I can only watch “Say Yes to the Dress!” (and “Bunheads”) with you.

      1. Ask me about the difference between power and violence sometime. To paraphrase Hannah Arendt, one is rules absolute while the other is absent. Think about it.

        Also, Honey Boo Boo has been blowing UP!

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

