Uncategorized

Where’d You Go, Nap?

Like the cicadas that sleep for up to eighteen years at a time, Can I Take A Nap? enjoyed a little hiatus, but it was no hibernation.   Since May,  I watched one of my spawn walk as a doctor (and into tax-paying employment), and I walked my first half marathon.  Let the record proudly show:  my time for thirteen miles was four hours and thirty-five minutes, without a potty break (a surprising stat, but in retrospect maybe not a good one).  I also became an unwitting tester of mosquito-repelling soap, when I received (unsolicited) a few bars in the post.  To this day, nobody can explain how or why.  The whole Napping Family took a little jaunt up to Maine and ate succulent lobster for every meal.  In between,  I performed all the other routine tasks that pay the bills and make civilized life possible at Casa de Nap.  Now it’s freakin’ August, with the long-shadowed, Back-To-School shopping, dog days of Summer ahead.

It’s good to let the top down and take a breath from time to time.  Looking in the rear-view mirror, this time last summer I was recovering from the surprise of a thyroid cancer diagnosis and preparing myself for RI treatment. Recently I read about the National Cancer Institute’s push to reclassify some tumors/nodules as “indolent lesions of epithelial origin,” or the more nap-friendly acronym, IDLE.    I’m not one who likes to second guess the decisions of the past, but this new position makes me wonder if my nodules and surgery were both over-diagnosis and over-treatment?  Or was I proactively heading off cancer at the pass?   Is it better to over-treat when the odds of a good outcome are high or watch and wait over time with increasing anxiety?  I’ll never empirically know the answer, but I do know I feel good and grateful for every day.

So thanks for checking in these last fallow months, my plans are to bring some short fiction to the blog along with the random ramblings.   Now turn over so you don’t get sunburn and re-apply your sunscreen.

8 thoughts on “Where’d You Go, Nap?

  1. Looking forward to reading your fiction! I think you made the right decision re: surgery. Clearly something was going on, and the procedure was relatively light, as those things go. I thought they definitely id’d it as thyroid cancer? I don’t know what falls under the “IDLE” heading, but it sounded like yours was not quite so idle. Well, it’s done, and I think it was done for the best (I know, easy for me to say when I wasn’t the one having the surgery). But I’m grateful to still have you in my life.

    1. XOXO! Thank you so much DD! You’re right: it was definitively cancer, and there is no way of telling how long it was there. Would it have stayed confined? Who knows? But when I look back on how fast I recovered I feel I made the right call. I have my 1-year “surveillance” follow-up next week. Here’s to that being a non-event as well.

    1. Notorious! I am jelly…. and hope for any distraction that will give me a Words with Friends advantage, however slight.

  2. Hi Rosie! Congrats on all the accomplishments you listed above! I appreciate what a nice rest it is to get away from electronic media for a while and just enjoy your family for a while.

    I’m anxious to see some of your Fiction. Always interesting to read someone elses material. Best source of inspiration there is, I think!

    Welcome back!

    🙂

    1. Thanks, Eric! It is hard to get away from all things digital, but you’re right: taking a break brings back some creative perspective.

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

