Uncategorized

Award-Winning Post

Leibster

Last week I was happily surprised and honored to be nominated by abundance in the boondocks for a Leibster Award, which is a nice way of recognizing and spreading the word about a sleepy little blog with an “elite” following.  I’ve found a few different iterations of the rules defining “elite” from as many as 1,000 followers to as few as 200.  Full disclosure:  Can I Take A Nap First? has slightly over 200 followers, including Twitter followers.

So here’s what happens next:

  1. I shall volunteer eleven facts about myself.
  2. I’ll answer the eleven charming and thought-provoking questions asked by my sponsor in this post.
  3. Then I’ll nominate 5 more bloggers, and invite them to accept the Leibster.
  4. I get to create eleven questions for my nominees to answer, and “tag” them.
  5. Add the Leibster badge to my blog’s sash (which will be the hardest part because I am “widget challenged”)

Below is a more detailed listing of the rules, courtesy of WordingWell:

The Official Rules Of The Liebster Award

If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:

1. thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)

3. answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. provide 11 random facts about yourself.

5. nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)

6. create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

7. list these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

Thank you again, abundance in the boondocks, for the nod.

Without further ado, here are my Eleven Nap Facts:

  1. I can’t watch TV unattended because I can’t remember how the remote controls work.  The upside to this is that I read and write more.
  2. I am a shameless but stealthy eavesdropper.
  3. I learned to love gefilte fish, but really just as a delivery system for horseradish.
  4. I hate to shop, but I love to troll the clearance racks of all types of stores for bargains.  I’ve found some great stuff at both The Home Depot and Williams-Sonoma.
  5. My guilty pleasure is popular music from the 1970’s and 1980’s.  I sing along.  Privately.
  6. My natural state is in pajamas.
  7. I believe in old-fashioned blushing, and am happy to report I still do it.
  8. The days that exhaust me the most are the humorless ones.  Laughter is like helium: it lifts me up and makes my voice sound funny.
  9. Of all the household chores I perform to make civilized living possible, my favorite is The Laundry.  I don’t know why, but I love the fresh, folded laundry that is the outcome of stinky, dirty clothes chaos.
  10. “Breakfast Served All Day”  is my favorite menu item.
  11. This is my longest blog post to date at 1600+ words.

Below are the answers to my sponsor’s questions:

1. If you had to write a six-word memoir for your life thus far, what would it be?   Frequently underestimated, therefore always a surprise.

2. What is your favorite color and how is it represented in your home? I like green. It’s a color found in nature, but you can find great “fake” greens everywhere, too. I have green counter-tops in my kitchen and pale green walls in the living room. My front yard is landscaped with all different shades of green shrubs. I change it up with some colored annuals every season, but I find it very soothing to view a wide swath of green. I like moss and even lichens. I draw the line at mold.

3. If you could do anything for a living, what would it be? I’d love to be a professional grandmother. Seems like a job complete with adoring groupies who hang on your every word. And you are always offering frequent, delicious snacks. Plus your uniform includes comfortable clothes and shoes.

4. Who has been the greatest influence in your life and why? Since the day they arrived my daughters have been my greatest incentive to be better by example. Like a grain of sand in an oyster shell, they irritate me in the best way possible, and keep me honest to myself. They are loving and encouraging but keep me from believing my own BS.

5. What writer or fictional character would you like to emulate if you could? This is a very timely question for me, because I’m just getting comfortable with the idea of consistently working hard to become the best writer I can be – not for commercial success, but to have a body of work I’m proud to show to the world. I’d describe myself as a late bloomer who thought good writers had special talents, but in reality they just work very hard at their craft. They write every day. They make it a priority, and they make sacrifices to write. Don’t get me wrong, it IS gratifying to earn a living by your craft, but good writing is hard work.   So if I had to pick one writer to emulate I’d pick Ann Lamott because she is brutally honest about the hard work of writing, but she also shows great joy and gratitude to her writing life. She inspires us mortals to keep digging to find our greatness within.

6. If you could spend a week writing in any city in the world, where would you go? To riff on the phase, “There are eight million stories in the Naked City,” I’d go to a place where people watching is an art form:   New York City.   I’d spend each of the 7 days in a different public location: The West Village, Central Park, Columbia University, Union Square, Grand Central Station right before the last trains leave, Coney Island on an early summer day, The Cloisters. I’m an ex-commuter and used to imagine where my fellow commuters were heading every morning. A few of my jobs were so uninspiring I would imagine myself following one of these “repeat strangers” for the day just to relieve my own monotony.

7. What is your favorite writing exercise or prompt? Since I just successfully made it through April I have to say the A-to-Z Challenge. It was open enough to allow for individual creativity, but had a liberal 24 hour deadline and not-too-taxing word count for somebody with a day job. I love the idea of NaNoWriMo and all the community surrounding it, but I just can’t sustain those daily 1,700 word counts.

8. What’s your best cure for filling the page or blank screen? Just start typing. Like the fantastic Anne Lamott says, “Just take it bird by bird.” Even if it starts out rough, barfing it out (I believe that is an editorial term) gives you some raw material – even if it’s just a warm-up exercise. And if you use a big font you can make it fill up the screen so it looks like a bigger word count.

9. Where is the place you usually find inspiration to write? Newspapers – mostly the obituaries. It’s magical to see the fascinating lives of all kinds of people. People who may have never made headlines were the headliners in the life of some family or some organization.

10. What are two books you have on your shelf or stored in your e-reader?  Oh boy — I can only pick two?  I’m checking my kindle right now and see Harry Truman’s Excellent Adventure  The True Story of a Great American Road Trip by Matthew Algeo and The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton.  

11. Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of (links please!)?  I’m going to pick two different types of posts:  one is fiction and the other I consider a minor rant of common sense — 

 Anything For A Thrill

Food Control 

And now, here are my next nominees for the Leibster are:

Angie Richmond — Coaching, Writing, Creating

Silvia Writes  — Life is a story.  Might as well write it.

Halley Gentil — Adventures of an American Abroad

faeriembassy — life without television

My Sword and Shield — a few thoughts from a poet, plumber, writer

 

And your Eleven Questions, my friends:

  1. What are the first 3 things you do every morning?
  2. Is your blog your primary creative outlet?  If not, please tell us about your pet project.
  3. You’re having a cocktail party and need to invite one Arts legend, one Sports legend and one family legend.  Please tell us who you’re inviting and why.
  4. Where do you usually find your creative inspiration?
  5. If you could go anywhere is time for one week only, where would you go and why?  (You can go into the past or the future.)
  6. Would you rather be the Teacher or the Student?  Why?
  7. Short story or long-form novel?  Which would (or do) you prefer to write?  Which do you prefer to read?
  8. Who is your favorite author and what is your favorite book?
  9. Three adjectives to describe yourself.
  10. Relate one past experience that made you who you are today.
  11. Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of (links please!)?

Now off I go to tag my next “beloveds.”    It’s been fun ~  I hope you’ll join me.

9 thoughts on “Award-Winning Post

    1. Hi DD: I’m trying to let it loose with some artistic discipline. It’s all well and good to have flights of imagination, it’s the butt in chair part that you need for the execution. 🙂

  1. thank you for the nomination. I will join you as soon as I can figure out the wdgets tags links etc – I am very computer challenged and it might have to wait until I get some support.
    Sandra
    P.S.
    love your work

    1. Thanks, Sandra. I love your blog — it’s quite unlike anything I’ve seen. I’m also “widget-impaired.” Which means I try to make the content as compelling as possible. 😉

    1. Hi Silvia — I knew I couldn’t be the first to “discover” you. 🙂 I enjoy your blog very much and look forward to visiting often.

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination! I have already received this award, so I’m going to decline this time. But that doesn’t change my thankfulness for your thoughts. Nor does it change my admiration of you and your blog! 🙂

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

