Uncategorized

Pops is Tops

I’m grateful I can still call my dad on his land line to wish him Happy Father’s Day.  I included him as part of my A-To-Z Challenge this year in the post, “Bonus Time ~  The Ballad of Boris.”   After we spoke today I remembered all the good advice he’s given me.  Below are some snippets that I hope will make you chuckle and remember the sage words of all the fathers we meet:

1.  “You’re driving a dangerous piece of machinery.”  First uttered when I was learning to drive, but I still think of it now when slip behind the wheel.  …. and remind my own kids.

2.  “You’re going to meet a lot of people.  You don’t have to like all of them, but you will have to get along with them.”  And the corollary: “Be nice to everyone you meet on the way up, because you’ll meet them again on the way down.”

3.  “Just remember before you answer, it took a lot of courage for that boy to ask you out.” …. this strange sympathy for teen-age boys didn’t stop him from putting the squeeze on them when they came to the house.  His attitude was the precursor to Dan Hedaya as classic Dad, Mel Horowitz, in the film Clueless“Anything happens to my daughter, I got a .45 and a shovel.  I doubt anyone would miss you.”  

4.  “Nothing good happens after midnight, and you can still get into plenty of trouble before then, too.” 

5a.  Two variations on a theme:  “Use your head.” 

5b. “Use your best judgement.”

6.  “Sometimes it’s best to just keep your mouth shut.”  — this is often the hardest advise to follow, and I’m realizing how valuable (and at times, difficult) it is to keep my own counsel.  Especially now in the age of instant social media, and as a parent of my own adult children.

Yep, as I get older my father gets smarter.  I’m trying to catch up, but he reminds me that though I may get closer he’ll always remain a few steps ahead.  Even at my age he’s still clearing a path for me to follow fearlessly.  Thanks, Dad.

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Pops is Tops

  1. all of our dads were a lot smarter than we gave them credit for. i am also quite lucky, as we just got home from a brunch visiting sid (my poppa).

    1. Happy Father’s Day (slightly belated) to both you and Poppa Sid. It was a beautiful day to enjoy family and Nature. …. and a delicious brunch.

  2. yep I like the sound of your dad , mine is 87 now and still has a wicked sense of humour, a lively interest in a sustainable future and great wisdom.
    some of us have been lucky eh!!!
    Sandra

  3. Sorry it took me so long to get to this, Rosie. I absolutely love this post!

    My Dad has given me lots of quotes like those to live with each day. I am thankful for each and every one.

    1. Thanks, my friend. There is never any need to rush on the Internet. Can I Take a Nap? Is always standing by for you to cruise over at your leisure. 🙂

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

