Uncategorized

Rise Up From Your Recliners!

Welcome to 2015. Like an astronaut returning from deep space and discovering the weakness in her atrophied muscles, I’m returning to this space with a yawn and stretch, (not to be confused with the perky “bend and snap” moves of Elle woods in Legally Blonde) and the motivation of one Mike Helbing.

Mr. Helbing was profiled recently in Lehigh Valley Live for his ambitious project of being the first person to hike the perimeter of NJ, approximately 500 miles. It’s clearly his passion: he has been leading hiking groups since 1977.  He’s also the founder of Metrotrails, a hiking group celebrating and fostering the education and preservation of hiking routes in the NY/NJ/PA tri-state area.  There is also a great profile of him over at Driving Jersey.

I admire Mr. Helbing, and not just because he’s walking the talk, so to speak, but because he’s “just doing it.”   I’m guilty of thinking too much about doing something.  Or, maybe I’m just talking myself OUT of doing something, because it’s really easy to do that from underneath a blanket on the La-Z-Boy  scrolling through Twitter.  And hey, I like Twitter, but every so often I feel an ironic twinge when I call it social media?  (Merriam Webster’s definition below:)

so·cial

adjective \ˈsō-shəl\

: relating to or involving activities in which people spend time talking to each other or doing enjoyable things with each other

: liking to be with and talk to people : happy to be with people

: of or relating to people or society in general

So even though it’s winter here in the northeast, I’m making a pledge to get out from under both the snow and the blankets and get out there.  Call my friends, take a walk, check on the neighbors, learn something new, maybe even join Mr. Helbing & friends on a future hike.  Wishing you all a glorious 2015 — wherever you may wander!

 

5 thoughts on “Rise Up From Your Recliners!

  1. Oh I remember many an ambitious oath of more walking in my future. Alas, they have all fallen by the wayside!

    Here’s to you and your dedication! May it come true for you, Dear Friend!

    1. Thanks, Blade. I’m noticing the days getting a little longer each evening. Now, if we can only get the temperature to eek up a bit, too.

    1. Thanks, Chris. Yeah — it hasn’t been all that nice outside. Walking on a treadmill is good for some creative mind-wandering though. …..if I make notes of those wandering ideas.

      1. I know what you mean. It’s so challenging to immediately jot those ideas down when you’re in the middle of something else. I don’t have a treadmill, but in exceptionally cold and snowy winters, I find just using my stairs as a treadmill–walking or running up and down many times–works too.

Feel Free To Leave a Reply

